top of page

Say Yes But Only If You Dare - short story

"Won't you say yes to heaven, little one? he dared to ask. "I know better than to trust the Devil himself disguised as God, I'm no fool," I managed to scruff out. "You know... It's such a shame that a sinner like yourself seems so righteous," He hissed bitterly. Yes hissed, he is a bloody snake after all. "Well then, aren't you too eager to shake this poor sinner's hand," I bite back. Sarcasm radiated off me like tsunami waves.

His oval-shaped pupils and freaky-looking face popped out at me. "Wasn't Satan supposed to be beautiful? Or did I miss the memo?" I pondered. "Ooo, I know, when you were kicked out of heaven on your ass, you lost your angel-like qualities, didn't you?" I inquired, studying him intently. He scoffed. It sounded utterly awful. Worse than nails on a chalkboard. He was awful but I wasn't so far behind him, he knew it, I knew it, we knew it. "Liar, I am stunning, mouth-watering, jaw-droppingly beautiful," he sprouted. Nonsense, nonsense, nonsense.

"Maybe in hell. The beauty standards there don't seem to be too demanding," I said. Would anyone believe me if I said I was trash-talking the Devil? Doubt it, maybe the batshit type of crazy people would. The ones that have snot drugs so far up their ass that it was the pinnacle of their delusions. My lips furrowed downwards into a frown, "why am I here?"

"Join me in paradise, help me turn earth into our personal paradise, or per se hell," he tried to convince me. My face morphed into disgust. Who in their right mind would join the Devil? "Do I look like I want to be on God's shit list? Hell no," I said. He rolled his eyes. Is the Devil even a him? Does it have gender? "Did big mn upstairs kick you out of hell too?" I mocked. "You're a pretty annoying bitch," he muttered irritably. "You sound pretty bitter over there, would you like some sweet tea?" I asked, a petty smile plastered on my lips.

"You know what, you're insufferable. They should hire you to torture people in hell." He spat. "But I torture people so well here already. Don't you think my victims would hate to see me in hell torturing them too?" I asked. "Do you have to have a comeback for everything?" He asked. A vein has been steadily pulsing in his forehead since this conversation started. I'm enjoying every second of bringing him misery. "You're boring me here, Mr Satan," I shot back. I know I can be annoying, It's one of my greatest assets.

I spun around in the direction I was coming from and entered the classic red car that awaits me. I left him standing there looking like the idiot he is. It was very satisfying seeing his face quiver in anger. I winded down my window as I sped passed him, sending him a wink while a smirk graced my lips. Bon voyage, Devil. Have fun on God's naughty list.


꧁༺- // - 𝓔𝓵𝓵𝓮 <3 𝓐𝓱𝓲𝓻𝓲𝓪𝓱 -//-༻꧂







21 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page